Imperial College

London 100 years of living science

100

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rodney Eastwood PhD BSc College Secretary

7 December 2007

COLLEGE NOTICE

RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2007

The Research Excellence Award scheme is designed to reward research teams that have demonstrated high academic achievement and have significant future potential. Each award is for up to £150K and is intended for blue-skies research. Up to four Awards are made annually.

An external panel comprising the Rector, Professor Sir John Bell, Lord Broers, Professor Sir John Enderby and Professor Sir Aaron Klug considered the final short list of projects for the 2007 awards.

The Rector is pleased to announce that this year's Research Excellence Awards have been won by the following teams:

Super Resolution Imaging

Team Leader: Professor Peter Cawley

Team members: Professor Michael Lowe, Dr Francesco Simonetti, Dr Frederic Cegla

and Mr Pierre Belanger from the Department of Mechanical Engineering

Imaging nanostructures and hierarchical materials assembly

Team Leader: Professor Sergei Kazarian

Team members: Professor Andrew Livingston, Professor Paul Luckham, Professor Kanhg Li, Dr Alexander Bismarck, Dr Andrew Chan, Dr Angelika Menner, Dr Natasha

Shirshova,

Dr Ludmila Peeva and Dr Camilla Ricci from the Department of Chemical Engineering

Understanding biodiversity dynamics in a changing world

Team Leader: Professor Andy Purvis

2007/08 - 14

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

Team Members: Dr Matthew Fisher from the Division of Epidemiology, Public Health and Primary Care, Professor Henrik Jensen from the Department of Mathematics, Dr Richard Grenyer, Professor Georgina Mace, Professor E J Milner-Gulland, Dr David Orme and Professor Ian Owens from the Department of Life Sciences

Non linear optics and fibre based instrumentation

Team Leader: Professor Roy Taylor

Team members: Dr Sergei Popov, Mr John Travers, Mr Andrei Rulkov and Mr Burly

Cumberland from the Department of Physics

The awards will be presented at the Postgraduate Awards Ceremony in May 2008.

Rodney Eastwood College Secretary