

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rodney Eastwood PhD BSc College Secretary

18 November 2008

COLLEGE NOTICE

HEAD OF DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

Professor Joanna Haigh has accepted appointment as Head of the Department of Physics in succession to Professor Donal Bradley FRS, with effect from 1 January 2009.

After taking a first degree and DPhil from Oxford, and an MSc from Imperial, Joanna Haigh joined the College as a Lecturer in 1984 becoming Professor of Atmospheric Physics in 2001. She has published widely in the area of radiative transfer in the atmosphere, climate modelling and radiative forcing of climate change.

Professor Haigh has been Vice-President of the Royal Meteorological Society, Editor of the Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society, a Lead Author of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Third Assessment and has served on many UK and international scientific panels.

She is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and of the Royal Meteorological Society, and in 2004 she received the Institute of Physics Charles Chree Medal and Prize for her work on the influence of solar irradiance variability on climate.

As previously announced, Professor Bradley becomes Deputy Faculty Principal, Faculty of Natural Sciences, on 1 January 2009.

Rodney Eastwood College Secretary