Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rodney Eastwood PhD BSc College Secretary

21 Jul 09

COLLEGE NOTICE

IMPERIAL COLLEGE LONDON AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING; RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PASTORAL CARE; RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

IMPERIAL COLLEGE LONDON AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching. The scheme also includes the election of up to three of the award winners as Imperial College Teaching Fellows, one of whom may carry the title of Teaching Fellow for Innovation, in specific recognition of the most innovative contribution to teaching and assessment.

The Adjudicating Panel has conferred Awards for Excellence in Teaching on the following staff for 2009:

Dr Peter Clark - NHLI

Professor Paul Dauncey - Physics

Dr Kirsten Fobelets - Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Dr Matthew Genge - Earth Science and Engineering

Dr Steve Gentleman – Neuroscience and Mental Health

Mr Martin Holloway - Bioengineering

Dr Peter Karayiannis - Medicine

Dr Catherine O'Sullivan - Civil & Environmental Engineering

Dr Silvestre Pinho - Aeronautics

Dr Nicola Rogers - Medicine

Professor Shiranee Sriskandan - Investigative Science

Professor Richard Thompson – Physics

Dr Gareth Tudor-Williams - Medicine

Dr Paul Wilde - Chemistry

Professor Denis Wright - Biology

Because of the quality of this year's nominees the Panel has exceptionally elected four Teaching Fellows from the above award winners:

Dr Matthew Genge – Teaching Fellow for Innovation Dr Silvestre Pinho Professor Richard Thompson Professor Denis Wright The 2009 Teaching Fellows will be presented to the Chairman of the Court and Council at one of the Commemoration Day ceremonies in the Royal Albert Hall on Wednesday 21 October.

RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PASTORAL CARE.

The Rector's Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in providing a supportive learning environment for students. There will normally be up to five award winners, of whom two will be elected Fellows.

Because of the quality of this year's nominees, the Adjudicating Panel has exceptionally conferred six Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care on the following staff for 2009:

Mr David Allman – Student Counsellor
Dr Simon Archer – Biology
Dr Lorraine Craig – Earth Science and Engineering
Mr Vasa Curcin and Dr Arash Mostofi, Warden and Assistant Warden, Piccadilly Court [joint award]
Professor David Lloyd Smith – Dean of Students
Dr Neil McIntyre – Warden, Beit Hall

The Panel has elected two Pastoral Care Fellows from the above award winners:

Mr David Allman Professor David Lloyd Smith

The Pastoral Care Fellows for 2009 will be presented to the Chairman of the Court and Council at one of the Commemoration Day ceremonies in the Royal Albert Hall on Wednesday 21 October.

RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The Rector's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in providing a supportive learning environment for postgraduate research students. This is the first time this award had been given. There will normally be up to six award winners, of whom one, or exceptionally two, will be elected a Fellow.

The Adjudicating Panel has conferred Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision on the following staff for 2009:

Professor Paul Cullinan – NHLI
Dr Louise Donnelly – NHLI
Dr Amparo Galindo – Chemical Engineering
Dr Julian Jones – Materials
Professor Jane Mitchell – NHLI
Dr Xiao Yun Xu – Chemical Engineering

The Panel has elected one Research Supervision Fellow from the above award winners:

Professor Jane Mitchell

The Research Supervision Fellow for 2009 will be presented to the Chairman of the Court and Council at one of the Postgraduate Degree ceremonies in the Royal Albert Hall on Wednesday 5 May 2010.

Rodney Eastwood College Secretary

2008/09 - 27

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine