

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rodney Eastwood PhD BSc College Secretary

30 September 2008

COLLEGE NOTICE

RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2008

The Research Excellence Award scheme is designed to reward research teams that have demonstrated high academic achievement and have significant future potential. Each award is for £150K and is intended for blue-skies research.

An External Panel comprising the Rector, Professor Sir John Bell, Lord Broers, Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell and Professor Sir Aaron Klug considered the final short list of projects for the 2008 awards.

The Rector is pleased to announce that this year's Research Excellence Awards have been won by the following teams:

Molecular Genetics and Genomics of Respiratory Disease

Team Leaders: Professor William Cookson and Professor Miriam Moffatt

Team members: Dr Nilesh Morar, Dr Sanjay Popat, Dr Louise Donnelly, Dr Youming Zhang, Dr Saffron Willis-Owen, Mr Kenny Wong, Dr Markus Hilty and Dr Charlene Calvert from the National Heart and Lung Institute.

Spatio-temporal Mapping of Protein Interactions in Live Cells by Multidimensional Fluorescence Imaging

Team Leaders: Professor Daniel Davis and Professor Paul French

Team members: Professor Tony Magee, Dr Mark Neil and Dr Christopher Dunsby from the Division of Cell and Molecular Biology, Department of Physics and National Heart and Lung Institute.

Tribology Group

Team Leader: Professor Hugh Spikes

Team Members: Dr Andrew Olver, Dr Ritchie Sayles, Dr Daniele Dini, Dr Janet Wong, Dr Philippa Cann and Dr Thomas Reddyhoff from Department of Mechanical Engineering.

The awards will be presented at the Postgraduate Awards Ceremony in May 2009.

Rodney Eastwood College Secretary