

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

**Dr Rodney Eastwood** PhD BSc College Secretary

12 November 2010

## **COLLEGE NOTICE**

## PRO RECTOR (HEALTH), AND PRINCIPAL AND DEPUTY PRINCIPAL OF THE FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Stephen Smith FMedSci, Principal of the Faculty of Medicine, has been appointed Pro Rector (Health) from 1 December 2010 alongside his existing role as Chief Executive of Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust.

In his new role Professor Smith will seek to strengthen the Academic Health Science Centre – the partnership between Imperial College London and Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust created in 2007 – and integrate it more deeply across all of the College's Faculties and the Business School.

Professor Smith will have Management Board responsibility for Imperial's strategic opportunities in Health Science research and education across the world, and is the founding Dean of the Imperial College London – Nanyang Technological University Medical School in Singapore, which was officially launched at the end of October 2010.

Professor Sir Anthony Newman Taylor FMedSci, currently Deputy Principal of the Faculty, will succeed Professor Smith as Principal of the Faculty of Medicine from 1 December 2010, initially until 2012. Sir Anthony, who is Professor of Occupational and Environmental Medicine and a Consultant Physician at the Royal Brompton Hospital, has previously been Head of the National Heart and Lung Institute from 2006 to 2009, and Campus Dean of the Royal Brompton Campus.

Professor Jenny Higham, currently Director of Education of the Faculty of Medicine, will become Deputy Principal of the Faculty of Medicine, succeeding Sir Anthony, from 1 December 2010. Professor Higham is Professor of Medical Education, and a Consultant Gynaecologist at Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, and chair of the Project Board for the Imperial College London – Nanyang Technological University Medical School in Singapore.

**Rodney Eastwood** 

College Secretary