Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rodney Eastwood PhD BSc College Secretary

24 May 2011

COLLEGE NOTICE

RECTOR'S 2011 AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AND IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching. Of the award winners up to four may be selected to receive a Rector's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence. One of the Medals may carry the title of Medal for Outstanding Innovation in Teaching.

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff for 2011:

Professor Alan Armstrong - Chemistry Mr Greg Artus - Humanities Professor Donald Craig - Chemistry Dr Robert Davies - Chemistry Dr Gary Hampson - Earth Science and Engineering Dr Stuart Haslam - Life Sciences Dr Patricia Hunt - Chemistry Mr Zen Makuch - CEP Dr Dan Moore - Mathematics Dr Kevin Murphy - Medicine Dr Richard Murphy - Life Sciences Dr Alessandra Russo - Computing Dr Jane Saffell – Life Sciences Dr Sandra Shefelbine - Bioengineering Dr Colin Turnbull – Life Sciences Professor Andrew Walden – Mathematics Professor Helen Ward - Public Health

Rector's Medals for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Mr Zen Makuch - CEP Dr Sandra Shefelbine - Bioengineering

The Rector's Medal for Outstanding Innovation in Teaching is awarded to:

Dr Jane Saffell – Life Sciences

RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The Rector's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in providing a supportive learning environment for postgraduate research students. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive the Rector's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision.

2010/11 - 16

Rector's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision and Rector's Medals for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff for 2011:

Professor Anthony Bull – Bioengineering Professor Andrew Bush - NHLI

Rodney Eastwood College Secretary