

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

r.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rodney Eastwood PhD BSc College Secretary

25 October 2010

COLLEGE NOTICE

RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2010

The College is pleased to announce the 2010 results of the Research Excellence Awards Scheme, which is designed to reward research teams that have demonstrated high academic achievement and have significant future potential. The teams that will each receive an award for £100K for blue-skies research are as follows:

Research team: Next-Generation Computational Geophysical Fluid Dynamics (Department of Earth Science and Engineering)

Team leader: Professor Christopher Pain

Team members: Dr Peter Allison, Dr Matthew Piggott, Dr Matt Jackson, Dr John-Paul Latham, Dr Tara La Force, Dr Gareth Collins, Dr Gerard Gorman, Dr Rhodri Davies, Dr David Ham, Dr Fangxin Fang, Dr Jeff Gomes, Dr Tim Bond, Dr Patrick Farrell, Dr Ana Garcia-Sagrado, Dr Murtaza Gulamali, Dr Rhodri Nelson, Dr Jon Hill, Dr Jon Saunders, Dr Yingjie Wang, Dr Cian Wilson, Dr Jiansheng Xiang, Mr Tom Davison, Mr Pablo Brito Parada, Mr Simon Funke, Ms Hannah Hiester, Mr Giuseppe Le Voci, Ms Flora MacTavish, Mr Ben Martin, Mr Alistair McVicar, Mr Frank Milthaler, Mr Andrew Mitchell and Mr Dimitrios Pavlidis.

Research team: New Nanoscale Technique to Study cAMP/cGMP Localisation in Cardiovascular Tissue (National Heart and Lung Institute)

Team leader: Dr Julia Gorelik

Team members: Professor Sian Harding, Professor Yuri Korchev, Professor Max Lab, Professor Jane Mitchell and Dr Alex Lyon.

Selection process

The successful teams were selected from applications submitted by faculties by a panel comprising the following members:

- Sir Keith O'Nions, Rector
- Professor Sir John Bell, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences and Regius Professor of Medicine at Oxford University.
- Lord Broers, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Diamond Light Source and Member of the House of Lords Science and Technology Committee.
- Professor Dame Louise Johnson, Life Sciences Director at Diamond Light Source.

Rodney Eastwood

College Secretary

2010/11 - 06

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine