

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

Mr John Neilson College Secretary and Registrar

31 May 2012

## **COLLEGE NOTICE**

# RECTOR'S 2012 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING, PASTORAL CARE, RESEARCH STUDENT SUPERVISION AND SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

# RECTOR'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of the academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching. Of the award winners up to four may be selected to receive a Rector's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence. One of the Medals may carry the title of Medal for Outstanding Innovation in Teaching.

Rector's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Nick Addington - Department of Mathematics

Dr Chris Braddock - Department of Chemistry

Dr Adrian Butler - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Professor Kevin Buzzard - Department of Mathematics

Dr Joao Cabral - Department of Chemical Engineering

Professor Kim Christensen - Department of Physics

Dr Gareth Collins - Department of Earth Science and Engineering

Dr Steve Cook - Department of Life Sciences

Dr Michael Coppins - Department of Physics

Dr Yiannis Demiris - Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Professor Glenda Gillies - Department of Medicine

Dr Kleoniki Gounaris - Department of Life Sciences

Dr Dave Hartley - Department of Life Sciences

Professor Howard Johnson - Department of Earth Science and Engineering

Dr Ken Macleod - National Heart and Lung Institute

Dr David McPhail - Department of Materials

Mr Didier Occhipinti - Department of Humanities

Professor Steve Schwartz - Department of Physics

Professor Tom Welton - Department of Chemistry

Dr James Wilton-Ely - Department of Chemistry

Dr Toby Wiseman - Department of Physics

Rector's Medals for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Emma McCoy - Department of Mathematics Professor Alan Spivey - Department of Chemistry

The Rector's Medal for Outstanding Innovation in Teaching is awarded to:

Professor Adrian Sutton - Department of Physics

#### RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PASTORAL CARE

Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are presented annually to recognise the importance the College places upon providing a supportive learning environment for its students as part of its academic mission. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive a Rector's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Excellence in Pastoral Care.

Rector's Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are conferred on the following staff for 2012:

Dr Tilly Collins - Department of Life Sciences
Dr Louise Donnelly - National Heart and Lung Institute
Dr Jamie Standing - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Rector's Medals for Excellence in Pastoral Care are awarded to:

Dr Mick Jones - Department of Medicine Professor Alison McGregor - Department of Surgery and Cancer

### RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The Rector's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in providing a supportive learning environment for postgraduate research students. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive the Rector's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision.

Rector's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Niall Adams - Department of Mathematics Dr Ian Goodfellow - Department of Medicine

Rector's Medals for Excellence in Research Supervision are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Daniele Dini: Department of Mechanical Engineering Professor Sir John Pendry: Department of Physics

## RECTOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

The Rector's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience recognise the importance placed by the College on the contribution of support staff to underpinning the College's learning environment for students. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive the Rector's Medal for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience.

Rector's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are conferred on the following staff:

Ms Kate Baird - Institute of Clinical Sciences
Mr Surinder Singh Dio - Department of Earth Science and Engineering
Dr Naranker Dulay - Department of Computing
Mrs Clare Drysdale - Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Mr Colin Love - Business School

Rector's Medals for Supporting the Student Experience are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Michael Barrett - Faculty of Medicine Miss Fionnuala Ni Dhonnabhain - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

# John Neilson

College Secretary and Registrar