

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

2 June 2014

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2014 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING, PASTORAL CARE, RESEARCH STUDENT SUPERVISION AND SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching. Of the award winners up to four may be selected to receive a President's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence.

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Helal Ahmed - Graduate School

Dr Tristan Allwood - Department of Computing

Dr Michael Bearpark - Department of Chemistry

Dr Susan Hodgson - School of Public Health

Mr Martin Holloway - Department of Bioengineering

Dr Philippa Mason - Department of Earth Science Engineering

Dr Paul Mitcheson - Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Dr Darryl Overby - Department of Bioengineering

Dr Maarten van Reeuwijk - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr Duncan Rogers - NHLI

Professor Henry Rzepa - Department of Chemistry

Dr Paul Strutton - Department of Surgery and Cancer

Dr Mike Tristem - Department of Life Sciences

Mr Peter Wren - School of Professional Development

Dr Andrew Wynn - Department of Aeronautics

President's Medals for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Dr William Knottenbelt - Department of Computing Professor Mary Morrell - NHLI

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PASTORAL CARE

Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are presented annually to recognise the importance which the College places upon providing a supportive learning environment for its students as part of its

2013/14 - 20

academic mission. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive a President's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Excellence in Pastoral Care.

President's Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are conferred on the following staff for 2014:

Dr Chris Braddock - Department of Chemistry Dr Caroline Hargreaves - Graduate School

President's Medals for Excellence in Pastoral Care are awarded to:

Dr John Gibbons - Department of Mathematics Dr Ruediger Woscholski - Department of Chemistry

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in providing a supportive learning environment for postgraduate research students. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive the President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision.

President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Ahmed Elghazouli - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Danilo Mandic - Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Professor Peter Weinberg – Department of Bioengineering

President's Medals for Excellence in Research Supervision are awarded to:

Professor Clare Lloyd - NHLI Professor Miriam Moffatt – NHLI

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

The President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience recognise the importance placed by the College on the contribution of support staff to underpinning the College's learning environment for students. Of the award winners up to two may be selected to receive the President's Medal for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience.

President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are conferred on the following staff:

Mr Vic Boddy - Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Dr Alison Cambrey - Faculty of Medicine Dr Amani El-Kholy – Department of Computing

President's Medals for Supporting the Student Experience are awarded to the following staff:

Mr Ian Gillett - Department of Health and Safety Services Dr Maria Toro-Troconis - Faculty of Medicine

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar

2013/14 - 20