

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

1 May 2015

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING SENIOR APPOINTMENTS

Head of the Department of Materials

Professor Peter Haynes, Professor of Theory and Simulation of Materials, has accepted appointment as Head of the Department of Materials, for five years with effect from 1 July 2015, in succession to Professor Neil Alford FREng.

Professor Haynes joined the College in 2007, having held a number of prestigious fellowships at the University of Cambridge. His research focuses on the development of new methods for performing quantum-mechanical simulations and their application to materials science. He was awarded the Maxwell Medal and Prize for Computational Physics by the Institute of Physics in 2010 for this work and for his leading role in the development of the ONETEP materials simulation software, now marketed commercially by BIOVIA, part of the French software company Dassault Systèmes. He is the Director of the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Theory and Simulation of Materials.

Head of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Professor Eric Yeatman FREng, Professor of Microengineering and Deputy Head of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, has accepted appointment as Head of the Department, for five years with effect from 1 September 2015, in succession to Professor Peter Cheung.

Professor Yeatman joined the College in 1989 and has held his professorship since 2005. His current research interests are in energy sources for wireless devices, radio frequency and photonic MEMS, and sensor networks. He is Co-Director of the College's Digital Economy Lab and Co-Founder and non-executive director of Microsaic Systems plc, which was the first company to introduce a miniature mass spectrometer for liquid analysis to the market and is listed on the London Stock Exchange. He was awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering Silver Medal in 2011, and was made a Fellow of the Academy in 2012.

Faculty of Engineering Associate Dean and Vice Deans

Dr Lorraine Craig, Academic Tutor in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering, has accepted the additional appointment as Associate Dean for Learning and Teaching for the Faculty of Engineering.

Dr Craig joined the College in 2006 following appointments at the Royal Geographical Society, the Open University, the University of Cambridge and Keele University. She is Chair of the College's Exploration Board and was awarded the Rector's Medal for Supporting the Student Experience in 2011. She was awarded a Fellowship by Imperial College Union in 2013.

Professor Peter Cheung will continue to serve for a further two years as the Faculty's Vice Dean for Education, until 31 July 2017. Professor Neil Alford will also continue to serve as the Faculty's Vice Dean for Research for two further years, until 31 July 2017.

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar