

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

18 May 2015

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2015 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Education or Research.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Education celebrate staff who have made outstanding contributions in teaching, pastoral care, research supervision and supporting the student experience.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching. Of the fifteen award winners up to four may be selected to receive a President's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence.

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Alan Armstrong – Department of Chemistry

Dr Bob Boyle - Department of Medicine

Angela Dalrymple – Business School

Dr Joshua Edel – Department of Chemistry

Dr Anita Hall - Department of Life Sciences

Dr Zen Makuch – Centre for Environmental Policy

Dr Christos Markides – Department of Chemical Engineering

Dr Paul Seldon - Graduate School

Dr David Thomas – Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Professor Cesare Terracciano - NHLI

President's Medals for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Giskin Day – Centre for Co-Curricular Studies Professor Jonathan Mestel – Department of Mathematics Dr Jane Saffell – Department of Medicine Dr Amir Sam – Department of Medicine

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PASTORAL CARE

Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are presented annually to recognise the importance which the College places upon providing a supportive learning environment for its students as part of its

2014/15 - 15

academic mission. Of the five award winners up to two may be selected to receive a President's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Excellence in Pastoral Care.

President's Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are conferred on the following staff for 2014:

Dr Andreas Kogelbauer – Department of Chemical Engineering
Dr Andrew McKinley – Department of Chemistry
Rebecca Naessens – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

President's Medals for Excellence in Pastoral Care are awarded to:

Dr Laura Barter – Department of Chemistry Dr Sharon Taylor – Department of Medicine

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in the research supervision, encouragement and support of postgraduate research students. Up to five award winners may be selected, of which two may be selected to receive the President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision.

President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Leroy Gardner – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Dr Patricia Hunt – Department of Chemistry

President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision is awarded to:

Professor Beate Kampmann – Department of Medicine

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

The President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience recognise the importance placed by the College on the contribution of all staff (academic, professional and technical) to underpinning the College's learning environment for students. Of the five award winners up to two may be selected to receive the President's Medal for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience.

President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Oscar Ces – Department of Chemistry Professor Peter Cheung – Faculty of Engineering Inkeri Hibbins – Department of Mathematics

President's Medals for Supporting the Student Experience are awarded to the following staff:

Laura Bulmer – International Relations Office Laura McConnell – Graduate School

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar

2014/15 – 15