

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John NeilsonCollege Secretary & Registrar

18 May 2015

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2015 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Education or Research.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in early career research, research support, as part of a research team, and in research innovation and external engagement.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH TEAM

The Award for Outstanding Research Team celebrates the achievements of research teams at Imperial, recognising outstanding research that delivers impact, a team's international standing and their beneficial contribution to Imperial.

President's Awards for Outstanding Research Team are conferred on the following teams:

Compact Muon Solenoid group, led by Professor Tejinder Virdee – Department of Physics Membrane Biophysics Platform team, led by Professor John Seddon – Department of Chemistry Centre for Blast Injury Studies, led by Professor Anthony Bull – Department of Bioengineering

President's Medals for Outstanding Research Team are awarded to the following teams:

Professor Eric Alton's research group – NHLI ICFEP group, led by Professor David Potts – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING EARLY CAREER RESEARCHER

The Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher aims to celebrate the academic excellence and development of Imperial's early stage researchers.

President's Awards for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Mohamed Shamji – NHLI Dr Agi Brandt-Talbot – Department of Chemical Engineering

President's Medals for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are awarded to:

2014/15 - 16

Dr Soraia Pimenta - Department of Mechanical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR RESEARCH SUPPORT EXCELLENCE

The Award for Research Support Excellence aims to recognise the contribution of Research Support staff at Imperial, including the beneficial effects their support has given to Imperial research and the innovative approaches/good practice they bring to a project.

President's Awards for Research Support Excellence are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Katharina Kreissig – Department of Earth Science and Engineering Catherine Simpson and Jane Srivastava (joint award) – Department of Life Sciences

President's Medals for Research Support Excellence are awarded to:

Dr Andrew White – Department of Chemistry
Dr Sarah Butcher – Department of Life Sciences
Anusha Sri-Pathmanathan – Department of Chemical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EXTERNAL ENGAGEMENT AND PARTNERSHIPS

The Award for Excellence in External Engagement and Partnerships celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising the development of lasting external collaborations, and the impact of their research inside and outside Imperial.

President's Awards for Excellence in External Engagement and Partnerships are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Laura Barter - Department of Chemistry

President's Medals for Excellence in External Engagement and Partnerships are awarded to the following staff:

Professor Richard Jardine - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

The Award for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising unique activities breaking new frontiers, the effective and appropriate exploitation of research, and realised or prospective economic or social impact.

President's Awards for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are conferred on the following staff:

Railway and Transport Strategy Centre, led by Richard Anderson – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

President's Medals for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are awarded to the following staff:

Professor Peter Barnes – NHLI Professor Constantinos Pantelides – Department of Chemical Engineering

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar 2014/15 – 16