# Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

9 June 2016

#### **COLLEGE NOTICE**

#### PRESIDENT'S 2016 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Education or Research.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Education celebrate staff who have made outstanding contributions in teaching, pastoral care, research supervision and supporting the student experience.

#### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching. Of the fifteen award winners up to four may be selected to receive a President's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence.

## <u>President's Medals for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence are awarded to the following staff:</u>

Professor Martin Blunt, Earth Science & Engineering Dr Sonia Kumar, School of Public Health

#### President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Marios Christou, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr Thomas Clarke, Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Professor Donald Craig, Chemistry

Dr Alastair Donaldson, Computing

Dr Anandha Gopalan, Computing

Dr Joanne Harris, Faculty of Medicine Centre

Dr Rosalind Herbert, School of Public Health

Dr Elizabeth Muir, School of Public Health

Dr Jonathan Pritchard, Physics

Dr Philip Ramsden, Mathematics

Dr Roberto Trotta, Physics

Professor Ramon Vilar Compte, Chemistry

2015/16 - 20

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

#### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PASTORAL CARE

Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are presented annually to recognise the importance which the College places upon providing a supportive learning environment for its students as part of its academic mission. Of the five award winners up to two may be selected to receive a President's Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Excellence in Pastoral Care.

#### President's Medals for Excellence in Pastoral Care are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Benita Cox, Business School
Ms Sue Feller, Civil and Environmental Engineering

#### President's Awards for Excellence in Pastoral Care are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Vanessa Garcia Larsen, National Heart & Lung Institute Dr Cleo Kontoravdi, Chemical Engineering Dr Luc Vandeperre, Materials

#### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in the research supervision, encouragement and support of postgraduate research students. Up to five award winners may be selected, of which two may be selected to receive the President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision.

#### President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision is awarded to:

Dr Stefanos Zafeiriou, Computing

# <u>President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff:</u>

Dr Tim Constandinou, Electrical and Electronic Engineering Professor James Durrant, Chemistry Professor Robin Grimes, Materials Professor Holger Krapp, Bioengineering

## PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

The President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience recognise the importance placed by the College on the contribution of all staff (academic, professional and technical) to underpinning the College's learning environment for students. Of the five award winners up to two may be selected to receive the President's Medal for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience.

### <u>President's Medals for Supporting the Student Experience are awarded to the following staff:</u>

Mrs Louise Green, Civil and Environmental Engineering Ms Susi Underwood, Chemical Engineering

2015/16 - 20

# <u>President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are conferred on the following staff:</u>

Dr Clemens Brechtelsbauer, Chemical Engineering Mr Jon Jaundrill, Faculty of Medicine Centre Dr Martyn Kingsbury, School of Professional Development

#### John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar