# Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

9 June 2016

### **COLLEGE NOTICE**

#### PRESIDENT'S 2016 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Education or Research.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in early career research, research support, as part of a research team, and in research innovation and external engagement.

### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH TEAM

The Award for Outstanding Research Team celebrates the achievements of research teams at Imperial, recognising outstanding research that delivers impact, a team's international standing and their beneficial contribution to Imperial.

President's Medals for Outstanding Research Team are awarded to the following teams: UNIHEAT, led by Professor Sandro Macchietto – Department of Chemical Engineering The Stevens Group, led by Professor Molly Stevens – Department of Materials and Department of Bioengineering

President's Awards for Outstanding Research Team are conferred on the following teams: Control and Power Research Group, led by Professor Bikash Pal – Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

#### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING EARLY CAREER RESEARCHER

The Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher aims to celebrate the academic excellence and development of Imperial's early stage researchers.

# President's Awards for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are conferred on the following staff:

Dr David Jennings – Department of Physics Dr David MacIntyre – Department of Surgery and Cancer

### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR RESEARCH SUPPORT EXCELLENCE

The Award for Research Support Excellence aims to recognise the contribution of Research Support staff at Imperial, including the beneficial effects their support has given to Imperial research and the innovative approaches/good practice they bring to a project.

### President's Medals for Research Support Excellence are awarded to:

Paul Brown – Department of Physics Shaun Power and John Booth (joint award) – Faculty of Engineering

### President's Awards for Research Support Excellence are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Iain Macdonald – Department of Chemical Engineering Dr Chrystalla Orphanides – Department of Medicine

### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EXTERNAL ENGAGEMENT AND PARTNERSHIPS

The Award for Excellence in External Engagement and Partnerships celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising the development of lasting external collaborations, and the impact of their research inside and outside Imperial.

# President's Medals for Excellence in External Engagement and Partnerships are awarded to the following staff:

Professor Jianguo Lin – Department of Mechanical Engineering

# President's Awards for Excellence in External Engagement and Partnerships are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Mary Ryan – Department of Materials

### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

The Award for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising unique activities breaking new frontiers, the effective and appropriate exploitation of research, and realised or prospective economic or social impact.

# President's Medals for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are awarded to the following staff:

Professor Chris Toumazou – Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar