Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

18 May 2017

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2017 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

The President's Awards for Excellence in Education celebrate staff who have made outstanding contributions in teaching, pastoral care, research supervision and supporting the student experience.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Awards for Excellence in Teaching are presented annually to members of academic staff judged to have been most outstanding in the quality, organisation and presentation of their teaching.

President's Medals for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Elizabeth Hauke, School of Professional Development Dr James Moss, National Heart & Lung Institute

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Kevin Buzzard, Department of Mathematics

Professor Sue Gibson, Department of Chemistry

Dr Andrew McKeown, School of Public Health

Dr Emma Passmore, Department of Earth Science & Engineering

Dr Mike Streule, Department of Earth Science & Engineering

Dr Shivani Tanna, School of Public Health

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN STUDENT SUPPORT

Awards for Excellence in Student Support are presented annually to recognise the importance which the College places upon providing a supportive learning environment for its students as part of its academic mission.

President's Medals for Excellence in Student Support are awarded to the following staff:

Professor Jan Cilliers, Department of Earth Science & Engineering Ms Photoulla Mikellides, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

2016/17 – 12

President's Awards for Excellence in Student Support are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Martyn McLachlan, Department of Materials Ms Esther Perea, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Ms Janette Shiel, Faculty of Medicine Centre

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision recognise staff who have made exceptional contributions in the research supervision, encouragement and support of postgraduate research students.

President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision is awarded to:

Dr Vahid Shahrezaei, Department of Mathematics

President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Bassam Izzuddin, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Nina Thornhill, Department of Chemical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

The President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience recognise the importance placed by the College on the contribution of all staff (academic, professional and technical) to underpinning the College's learning environment for students.

President's Medals for Supporting the Student Experience are awarded to the following staff:

Mrs Kate Ippolito, School of Professional Development Dr Janet De Wilde, Graduate School

President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Lesley Cohen, Department of Physics Dr Andrew Phillips, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar