### Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar

18 May 2017

#### **COLLEGE NOTICE**

#### PRESIDENT'S 2017 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in early career research, research support, as part of a research team, and in research innovation and external collaboration.

#### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH TEAM

The Award for Outstanding Research Team celebrates the achievements of research teams at Imperial, recognising outstanding research that delivers impact, a team's international standing and their beneficial contribution to Imperial.

#### President's Medals for Outstanding Research Team are awarded to the following teams:

Separations Engineering and Technology (SET), led by Professor Andrew Livingston – Department of Chemical Engineering

#### President's Awards for Outstanding Research Team are conferred on the following teams:

Engineering Alloys, led by Professor Fionn Dunne – Department of Materials Digistain team, led by Professor Chris Phillips – Department of Physics

### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING EARLY CAREER RESEARCHER

The Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher aims to celebrate the academic excellence and development of Imperial's early stage researchers.

# President's Medals for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Robert Snelgrove – National Heart and Lung Institute Dr Ben Britton – Department of Materials

### President's Awards for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Stamatia Giannarou – Hamlyn Centre for Robotic Surgery

2016/17 13

Dr Heather Battey – Department of Mathematics Dr Emma Robinson – Department of Computing

#### PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR RESEARCH SUPPORT EXCELLENCE

The Award for Research Support Excellence aims to recognise the contribution of Research Support staff at Imperial, including the beneficial effects their support has given to Imperial research and the innovative approaches/good practice they bring to a project.

### President's Medals for Research Support Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Miss Angela Lonergan – Department of Chemical Engineering

#### President's Awards for Research Support Excellence are conferred on the following staff:

Mr Martin Kehoe and Mr Simon Johnson (joint award) – Department of Physics

# PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EXTERNAL COLLABORATION AND PARTNERSHIPS

The Award for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising the development of lasting external collaborations, and the impact of their research inside and outside Imperial.

# President's Medals for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships are awarded to the following staff:

Tribology Group, led by Professor Daniele Dini – Department of Mechanical Engineering Carbon Capture Pilot Plant (CCPP) team, led by Dr Daryl Williams – Department of Chemical Engineering

# PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

The Award for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising unique activities breaking new frontiers, the effective and appropriate exploitation of research, and realised or prospective economic or social impact.

# President's Medals for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Frederic Cegla – Department of Mechanical Engineering Team of Professor Anthony Barrett, Dr Matthew Fuchter, Professor Charles Coombes, Professor

### Simak Ali - Departments of Chemistry and Surgery and Cancer

# President's Awards for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Daryl Williams – Department of Chemical Engineering Professor Anthony Kucernak and team – Department of Chemistry

John Neilson College Secretary & Registrar