Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary

25 May 2018

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2018 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Education, Research or Societal Engagement.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in early career research, research support, as part of a research team, and in research innovation and external collaboration.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH TEAM

The Award for Outstanding Research Team celebrates the achievements of research teams at Imperial, recognising outstanding research that delivers impact, a team's international standing and their beneficial contribution to Imperial.

President's Medals for Outstanding Research Team are awarded to the following teams:

Dhillo Research Group – Department of Medicine MRC Centre for Outbreak Analysis and Modelling – School of Public Health

President's Awards for Outstanding Research Team conferred on the following teams:

Human Tissue Team – National Heart & Lung Institute

Qatar Carbonates and Carbon Storage Research Centre (QCCSRC)

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING EARLY CAREER RESEARCHER

The Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher aims to celebrate the academic excellence and development of Imperial's early stage researchers.

President's Medals for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Kim Jelfs - Department of Chemistry

President's Awards for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Marc Deisenroth - Department of Computing

Dr Eva-Maria Graefe - Department of Mathematics

Dr James Harker - National Heart & Lung Institute

Dr Jun Jiang – Department of Mechanical Engineering

Dr Marc Stettler - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR RESEARCH SUPPORT EXCELLENCE

The Award for Research Support Excellence aims to recognise the contribution of Research Support staff at Imperial, including the beneficial effects their support has given to Imperial research and the innovative approaches/good practice they bring to a project.

President's Medals for Research Support Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Andy Thomas – Department of Mathematics

President's Awards for Research Support Excellence are conferred on the following staff:

Allison Hunter – Department of Life Sciences
Mica Tolosa-Wright – National Heart & Lung Institute
Sarah Willis – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Christian Wright – Faculty of Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EXTERNAL COLLABORATION AND PARTNERSHIPS

The Award for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising the development of lasting external collaborations, and the impact of their research inside and outside Imperial.

President's Medals for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships are awarded to the following staff:

Centre for Process Systems Engineering (CPSE)

President's Awards for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships are conferred on the following staff:

Professor Mark Girolami - Department of Mathematics

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

The Award for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising unique activities breaking new frontiers, the effective and appropriate exploitation of research, and realised or prospective economic or social impact.

President's Awards for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Stefan Leutenegger – Department of Computing.

John Neilson

College Secretary