Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.11, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary

19 June 2019

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2019 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Culture and Community, Education, Research or Societal Engagement.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research are annual awards to recognise staff members

who have made outstanding contributions in early career research, research support, as part of a research team, and in research innovation and external collaboration.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH TEAM

The Award for Outstanding Research Team celebrates the achievements of research teams at Imperial, recognising outstanding research that delivers impact, a team's international standing and their beneficial contribution to Imperial.

President's Medals for Outstanding Research Team are awarded to the following teams: Paediatric Infectious Diseases Team – Department of Medicine

President's Awards for Outstanding Research Team conferred on the following teams: The Hydrology Group – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

BioMedIA Research Group - Department of Computing

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING EARLY CAREER RESEARCHER

The Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher aims to celebrate the academic excellence and development of Imperial's early stage researchers.

President's Medals for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Yuval Elani – Department of Chemistry
Dr Thomas Ouldridge – Department of Bioengineering

2018/19 - 10

President's Awards for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Ana Caraiani – Department of Mathematics

Dr Andrew Hammond - Department of Life Sciences

Dr Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye – Department of Computing

Dr Wolfram Wiesemann - Imperial College Business School

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR RESEARCH SUPPORT EXCELLENCE

The Award for Research Support Excellence aims to recognise the contribution of Research Support staff at Imperial, including the beneficial effects their support has given to Imperial research and the innovative approaches/good practice they bring to a project.

President's Medals for Research Support Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Rebeca Santamaria-Fernandez – Department of Enterprise

President's Awards for Research Support Excellence are conferred on the following staff:

Mr Jaxom Champion—Department of Medicine Mr Jon Dyne — Department of Physics

Mr Marc Morgan - Department of Life Sciences

Dr Emma Sharp – Faculty of Natural Sciences

Mrs Rusudan Svanidze - Department of Mathematics

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EXTERNAL COLLABORATION AND PARTNERSHIPS

The Award for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising the development of lasting external collaborations, and the impact of their research inside and outside Imperial.

President's Medals for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships are awarded to the following staff:

The Gene Therapy Group - National Heart & Lung Institute Professor Ricardo Martinez-Botas - Department of Mechanical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

The Award for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising unique activities breaking new frontiers, the effective and appropriate exploitation of research, and realised or prospective economic or social impact.

President's Medals for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Alastair Donaldson - Department of Computing

President's Awards for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Iain Staffell – Centre for Environmental Policy

John Neilson

College Secretary

2018/19 - 10