### Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.11, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary

19 June 2019

#### **COLLEGE NOTICE**

# PRESIDENT'S 2019 AWARDS AND MEDAL FOR EXCELLENCE IN CULTURE AND COMMUNITY

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Culture and Community, Education, Research, or Societal Engagement.

The President's Awards for Culture and Community are new for 2019. They recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Leadership; Equality, Diversity and Inclusion; and Collaboration and Communication.

The President's Medal is in memory of Imperial's first Provost, Professor James Stirling.

The President's Award for Excellence in Culture and Community Leadership

For staff who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and management at all levels within the

College.

Professor Martin Liebeck, Department of Mathematics

# The President's Award for Excellence in Culture and Community Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

For staff who are committed to developing an environment which promotes equality of opportunity, values diversity, and where students and staff can work and study free from discrimination and harassment.

Individual Award: Professor Nicholas Harrison, Department of Chemistry

Team Award: The Early Years Education Centre

# The President's Award for Excellence in Culture and Community Collaboration and Communication

For individuals and teams who embody our spirit of community and collegiality. This involves teams and individuals working, planning, and delivering together towards the College's shared vision through effective networking, collaboration and communication.

Individual Awards: Margaret Collett, Department of Medicine, and Gareth Oliver, ICT

Team Award: Founders of the Imperial College Advanced Hackspace – Professor Oscar Ces, Department of Chemistry, and Dr Nick Jones, Department of Mathematics

### The President's Medal for Excellence in Culture and Community

For the overall winner of the Culture and Community awards, recognising individuals or teams who have made exceptional contributions to culture and community.

Professor Martin Liebeck, Department of Mathematics

**John Neilson** 

College Secretary