Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary

16 June 2021

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2021 AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Culture and Community, Education, Research or Societal Engagement.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Education celebrate staff who have made outstanding contributions in teaching and teaching innovation, research supervision and supporting the student experience.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

The President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are for outstanding teaching quality, organisation and presentation.

President's Medal for Excellence in Teaching is conferred on the following staff:

Prof Ahmer Wadee, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Charlotte Sutherell, Department of Chemistry

Dr Marc Masen, Department of Mechanical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR TEACHING INNOVATION

The President's Awards for Teaching Innovation are for outstanding innovations relating to teaching practice.

President's Medal for Teaching Innovation is awarded to the following staff:

Dr Umang Vinubhai Shah, Department of Chemical Engineering

President's Awards for Teaching Innovation are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Peter Johnson, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Professor Catherine O'Sullivan, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH SUPERVISION

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are for exceptional research

supervision, encouragement and support.

President's Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision is awarded to the following staff: Professor Washington Ochieng, Institute for Security Science & Technology

President's Awards for Excellence in Research Supervision are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Cleo Kontoravdi, Department of Chemical Engineering Dr Catrin Davies, Department of Mechanical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR EXCELLENCE IN SUPPORTING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

The President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are for outstanding contributions to enhancing the student experience made by any members of staff at the College (academic, professional or technical).

President's Medals for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are awarded to the following staff:

Rebecca Sie, Faculty of Medicine

Physics 'Lab in a box' Team: Graham Axtell, Rob Whisker, Harish Dawda, Ivan Hermida, Lee Parker – Department of Physics

President's Awards for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Anabel Varela Carver, Department of Surgery & Cancer Dr Caroline Clewley, Education Office

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING ASSISTANT SUPERVISOR

The President's Awards for Outstanding Assistant Supervisor celebrate and recognise the valuable contribution that postdocs make towards the supervision of the College's PhD students.

President's Awards for Outstanding Assistant Supervisor are conferred on the following staff:

Dr David Danaci, Department of Chemical Engineering Dr Carol Sheppard, Department of Infectious Disease

John Neilson

College Secretary